The Language of Love

I feel a reinvention coming on - a shift into a deeper understanding of the Self. This is being done through my study of “The Five Love Languages” by Gary Chapman which states that individuals receive love through “love languages.” These love languages are words of affirmation, quality time, receiving gifts, acts of service and physical touch. I, someone that has believed that she was receiving the greatest form of love through gifts for a majority of my life, am now questioning whether or not this belief was programmed into me at a young age. “Programming,” by the way, is absolutely done to each of us by our family, society, and our education system. However, we still have the choice to take self-responsibility to reassess our programming and make necessary changes in order to continuously evolve. I am now questioning the true overall value of three of these love languages: frequently receiving gifts, words of affirmation and physical touch.

Receiving gifts seems to attach oneself to a level of materialism that is unfortunately overly admired by society. People often measure their self-worth by what they possess. Yet, no matter how much one has, it seems as if it is never enough.

In regard to words of affirmation, I feel that this love language is only feeding the Ego and not the Self thereby keeping a person from expanding to their authentic spiritual Self.

And lastly, I see physical touch as a means of often substituting true connection with an act of pleasure. Granted, I do believe that physical touch with an actual deep connection to a partner shouldn’t be bypassed, but this is often not the case in our society today.

This leads me to feel that while these three love languages have a significant role to play, the more healthy and evolved love languages are: Quality time and acts of service. Specifically, giving one’s time and energy to another is, in my opinion, true love.

The love languages have been created to assist individuals towards creating lasting relationships with others and themselves. I ask, therefore, that you explore your love languages to see if maybe it’s time to shift yourself into a deeper awakening.

Always grateful,

Alisha xoxo

Featured Posts
Recent Posts